Today I did something I have never done before (that I can remember) in the world of activities… I had both of the kids do their activities at the same time and it was a little crazy! Izzy’s activity was painting with sponges. I just bought some plain old sponges without any special scrubber technology and cut them into easy-to-cut shapes. We ended up with a square, rectangle, oval, diamond, and triangle. I also tried to cut out a circle, but according to Husby it looked like another oval so we left it out. With sponges in hand, I poured out red, yellow, and blue paint onto plates for him to stamp with. I chose the primary colors hoping that it would naturally turn into a lesson on color mixing, but Izzy chose to keep his sponges very separate and with their own colors. He did have fun though and now I have a beautiful sponge painting on my fridge.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Sydney’s activity was supposed to be making a snack sensory/discovery bottle. I gave her a clean empty bottle and a bowl of cheerios and goldfish crackers. I showed her how to put the snacks in the top of the bottle hoping that she would fill it up and have a nice bottle of snacks to shake, rattle and roll. But for the most part she either wanted to just eat the snacks or try to get her hands in Izzy’s paint. On the flip side, I also had a hard time keeping Izzy’s painted fingers off his sister’s snacks. She did end up putting a few snacks in the bottle but poured them right back out again, but it was still a good fine motor exercise for her. As for Izzy, once he was satisfied with his sponge painting, he found an old baby bottle and insisted on making a sensory bottle of his own.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

